Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets | J.K. Rowling

HP 2

by J.K. Rowling ★★★★★
Kindle Edition

The Dursleys were so mean and hideous that summer that all Harry Potter wanted was to get back to the Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he’s packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.And strike it does.

For in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockheart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girl’s bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley’s younger sister, Ginny.
But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble beings, and someone–or something–starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects…Harry Potter himself. [Goodreads]


Blog Heading - My Review

The HP series is crammed full of magic and lessons. Each book casts an enduring spell over me every time I read it.

I think this is the fourth time I’ve read this book and I still make little discoveries along the way. Small things that I’ve missed (or forgotten) that trigger memories of characters or plots that will happen in later books.

Over the years I’ve seen that some readers have said that this book was their least favorite in the series. I for one loved it, just like I love all of the others. To me, all of the books make one big story, and they all provide unique elements that have created the Harry Potter phenomenon. So, I honestly can’t separate any of the books from the others and play favorites … they’re all my favorite.

In this book, we get to spend more time with our awesome [friends] characters Harry, Ron, and Hermione as they grow and tackle another year of challenges. Hogwarts is their safe haven, but in the blink of an eye, that safety is shattered. The famous school suddenly has an unknown evil within its walls, and the students are its target.

We learn more about Hagrid’s troubled school days at Hogwarts and see Ginny become a more important character as she starts her first year at the famous school of wizardry. There’s the ego-rich Gilderoy Lockhart that adds an annoying but humorous element to the story (I bet we all know a Gilderoy or two or three). The marvelous Dobby makes an entrance and dives into our hearts as he tries to warn and save Harry from looming danger. His humble nature is continually challenged by his sad life of subservience and disrespect from his horrible master, Lucius Malfoy. His grace and goodness shine through as a lesson to us all, and he is deservingly rewarded by Harry in the end.

This book culminates in another battle against the dark force of Harry’s arch-enemy – Voldemort (aka Tom Riddle). It was great to be back in Hogwarts once again, I can’t wait to move onto book 3.

Check out my other Harry Potter reviews:



 


 

16 responses to “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets | J.K. Rowling”

  1. Visiting via the the blog hop. I agree that it is often the least popular. My daughter certainly thinks so. But like all the Potter books it is definitely worth a re-read. As you say, you get more out of the plots each time. I also like the the young Tom Riddle that we see. It emphasises what I think is Rowling’s main point – that he was just a boy who chose his path, and that evil/wrong-doing is a choice.

    Like

    1. I totally agree. Thanks for your visit and comment 🙂

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on Harry Potter. I’m always interested to see what other people think about it. I too really like this book as we see Harry start to come into his own and we start to learn more about the other characters as well.

    Geo Librarian
    Kid Lit Blog Hop

    Like

    1. You’re welcome Heidi, I’m glad to have you pop on by.

      Like

  3. I am one of the few people who has yet to read a Harry Potter book, so it was interesting reading your perspective of this book! I particularly love re-reading a favorite book and finding new things in the subtle nuances on each read – it sounds like an important part of the series!

    Thank you for sharing your review at this week’s Kid Lit Blog Hop!

    Create With Joy
    http://create-with-joy.com

    Like

    1. Thanks for visiting, Joy. You really should read HP. It’s such a great series that has been loved by millions.

      Like

    2. You’re not alone! I haven’t read them either. Sigh… they are all loaded up on my ereader ready to be read… any day now … just waiting … 😉 Thanks for your review Steve and for your wonderful shoutout to the Kid Lit Blog Hop! 🙂

      Like

      1. Your ereader is probably bursting for you to read them.
        Thanks for hopping Renee, it’s a pleasure to be part of the hop.

        Like

  4. Gahh comment Jail again, try this again. I am with you. I love these books so much. Thanks for linking them in to the Kid Lit Blog Hop. Cheers Julie

    Like

    1. Thanks Julie, they’d have to be my favorite sereis.

      I interpret your first few words as ‘Gee Steve is wonderful!’ Did you have a few tech issues?
      I find it hard to add comments to blogspot blogs (yours included) when using my iPad.

      Like

I’d love to hear your thoughts about my post … seriously!